All you need to know about the USA Pro Cycling Challenge

The USA Pro Cycling Challenge is a competition which witnessed its inception in the year 2011. It is a yearly held professional level bike or cycling race which is conducted over multiple numbers of days. It was first held in Colorado in its first year and is also called USA Pro Challenge or even America’s Race.

How it started?

On the 4th of August 2010 the USA Pro Cycling Challenge was announced for the first time by Lance Armstrong and the Governor of Colorado Bill Ritter. It was then announced with the name of Quiznos Pro Challenge. Colorado was a state in the United States which had a legacy attached to cycling.

This event looked towards highlighting on this legacy which was further cemented in between the years 1980-1988 by Coors Classic. It has however only on the 4th of February 2011 that the founder of Quiznos who was also the events co-chairman, Mr. Richard E. Schaden announced an initial investment of ten million US dollars in the growth and development of this race.

Features of the race

The USA Pro Cycling Challenge is one of its kinds. It is significant for being one of the three races around the entire United States of America which has got a rating of being a 2 H.C Race. The other two are namely, Tour of California and Tour of Utah. The race covers a total distance which amounts to 992 km. This has earned the USA Pro Cycling Challenge the title of being an extremely prominent race of the country.

List of winners

Over the years the USA Pro Cycling Challenge has been a very interesting and attractive competition. Individuals belonging to different teams have worked very hard to get the prize of the ultimate winner. The winners from 2011 have been as follows:

  • In 2011 a person for United States of America called Levi Leipheimer won the first place. He was a member of team RadioShack.
  • In the year 2012 the winner belonged to the team Garmin-Sharp. He was also from the United States of America and he was Christian Vande Velde.
  • In the year 2013 and 2014 the same man won the prize. He belonged to the BMC Racing Team and he was Tejay van Garderen. Tejay was also like the previous winners from United States.
  • In 2015 the USA Pro Cycling Challenge got its first winner from Australia, however even he belonged to the BMC Racing Team. His name was Rohan Dennis.

It must be noted that over the last three years BMC Racing Team has produced the winners of this race.

Development of the race

It is interesting to note that the first event was held from 22nd to 28th of august and as many as sixteen professional cycling teams had taken part in that year itself. In 2012 four new cities joined the race increasing its reach. In 2013 the race began at Aspen moving through the Rocky Mountains and finishing at downtown Denver. The highlight of the latest edition was of course the first Australian winner.